You would be surprised at how many don’t understand the rates for moving with in the state of Michigan. Also, moving is regulated by the Michigan Public Service Commission. Therefore we are required by law to a certain rate for any moves over 40 miles. These prices are set by the state, not the Moving Company themselves.
Anything under 40 miles is considered and local move. Most movers may set their own prices for these types of moves. If you are getting a moving quote by the hour for a move over 40 miles BEWARE if the mover is caught doing this your furniture could be impounded by the state. Finally, if you have any further question on this I would encourage you to call the Michigan Public Service Commission at 517-241-6180.